Tech

Can I just delete Messenger?

The only way to deactivate Messenger is to first deactivate your Facebook account. If you don’t want to go that far, you can disable your active status, or just delete the app. Once you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate it by logging back into Messenger or Facebook.

Can I delete Messenger and keep Facebook?

You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you.

What happens when you deactivate Messenger?

What Happens When You Deactivate Messenger? Now that you know how to deactivate Facebook Messenger, no one will be able to see your profile in the app or send you messages in existing conversations. Reactivating Messenger will also reactivate your main Facebook account.

How do I make myself unavailable on Messenger?

Launch and sign in to the Messenger app. Click on your profile icon at the top-left corner of the screen. Select “Active Status.”. Click on “Turn off active status for only some contacts.”. Enter the names of the people you wish to appear offline to. Select “OK” to confirm.

Can you tell if someone is checking your Messenger?

The blue circle with the check next to your message means that your message was sent. A filled-in blue circle next to your message means that your message was delivered. And, when a friend has read your message, a small version of your friend’s photo will appear next to your message.

Why is my name still showing on Messenger when I have deleted my account on Facebook?

If you deactivate your Facebook account: Specific information, such as sent messages, will remain visible. Your name will show up on friend lists, but only for your friends. Your name, posts, and comments will be visible to the admins of groups you’re joined. You will be able to keep using Messenger.

When you ignore someone on Messenger What do they see?

Ignoring a message has no effect on the account’s ability to send you a DM. It will simply ignore it. You will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from someone you have been ignored. Your messenger’s active and inactive status will be visible to them.

Does the green dot on Messenger mean they are chatting?

Yes, it is counterintuitive, since we would expect it to mean that the user is currently using Facebook Messenger. However, Facebook clarifies that the green dot only signifies that the user is online on Facebook. This means that the user could be on either the Facebook app, Facebook.com, or Facebook Messenger.

What is vanish mode on Messenger?

Messenger From Facebook offers an optional “Vanish Mode” that causes messages to automatically disappear from chats once they’ve been seen. When Vanish Mode is turned on for a chat, all “seen” messages will disappear when the user closes the chat. Users can turn on Vanish Mode for individual conversations separately.

How can you tell if someone has a secret conversation on Messenger?

You are able to have both a normal Facebook messenger conversation as well as a Secret Conversation with the same person. A padlock icon is displayed next to the person’s profile picture to tell you if a conversation is ‘Secret’.

Why can’t I remove account on Messenger?

You can remove Messenger accounts you’ve added, but you can’t remove all accounts or log out of Messenger. At least one account must remain active. You can’t remove the account you’re currently using. From Chats, tap your profile picture in the corner.

How do I know if someone has ignored me on Messenger?

To do so, message the person from your account and at the same time, ask someone else to message that person. Keep a check on the delivery icon for both accounts. If the other person’s delivery icon changes from Sent to Delivered and yours is still showing Sent, it means they have Ignored you.

What does a GREY circle with a check mark mean on Messenger?

Filled Grey Circle with a White Tick This is the icon, on Facebook Messenger that shows your message has been delivered to the other end. However, you must understand that the word ‘delivered’ here, does not necessarily mean that the recipient has ‘read’ the message.

How do you tell if you are blocked or ignored on Messenger?

It’s not always possible to tell the difference, but if you see that the recipient has posted to his or her Facebook page or comments on other people’s posts, that implies he or she is logged into Facebook. If your message remains undelivered, you are probably blocked.

Can you tell if someone is on Messenger or Facebook?

Click on the “Options” button located within the “Contacts” card and select the “Turn on Active Status” option. Look for the green dot between the profile picture and your friend’s name. If you see it, it means that they are currently active on Facebook or Messenger app.