From Chats, tap your profile picture in the corner. Scroll down and tap Account settings. Tap Account ownership and control. Tap Deactivation and deletion.
Why can’t I remove my Messenger account?
You can remove Messenger accounts you’ve added, but you can’t remove all accounts or log out of Messenger. At least one account must remain active. You can’t remove the account you’re currently using. From Chats, tap your profile picture in the corner.
Can I delete my Messenger account without deleting Facebook?
You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you.
What happens when you delete Messenger account?
What Happens When You Deactivate Messenger? Now that you know how to deactivate Facebook Messenger, no one will be able to see your profile in the app or send you messages in existing conversations. Reactivating Messenger will also reactivate your main Facebook account.
Why is my name still showing on Messenger when I have deleted my account on Facebook?
If you deactivate your Facebook account: Specific information, such as sent messages, will remain visible. Your name will show up on friend lists, but only for your friends. Your name, posts, and comments will be visible to the admins of groups you’re joined. You will be able to keep using Messenger.
Can you have Messenger without Facebook?
While it seems like the apps are intrinsically tied to each other, you can actually use Messenger without a Facebook account. If you want to use Messenger without joining Facebook, just download the app and click on Create New Account. You can even use Facebook Messenger Rooms without a Facebook profile.
How do I delete Messenger off my Iphone?
Open Messenger. Tap your profile photo. Tap Switch Account. Tap ⁝. Tap Remove account. Tap REMOVE.
How do I deactivate my Messenger 2020?
Step 2: Now, from Chats, tap your profile picture in the top left corner. Step 3: On the new page, tap Account Settings. Step 4: Under Account Settings, tap Personal information. Step 5: On the Settings page, tap Manage Account>Deactivate.
Will deleting Messenger delete messages?
There’s no way to delete all your Facebook messages at once, but you can delete them one conversation at a time. Deleting a Facebook message only deletes it from your account ” the person or people you sent the message to will still have it.
How do you know if someone deactivated Messenger?
Look for “This person is unavailable on Messenger” in the typing area. If you see this message in the area where you’d normally type a message, you are not blocked”the person has either deactivated their account, or the account was deleted by Facebook.
Why you should stop using Facebook Messenger?
At the moment, harmful messages and content in Facebook Messenger chats can be flagged. Encryption could mean many of these messages go unnoticed. This has left Facebook in a difficult situation, as not fully encrypting chats could be crucial for lawful intervention.
How can you tell if someone is using Messenger?
Click on the “Options” button located within the “Contacts” card and select the “Turn on Active Status” option. Look for the green dot between the profile picture and your friend’s name. If you see it, it means that they are currently active on Facebook or Messenger app.
Are Messenger messages private?
NO. Unless you are using Secret Conversations (explained below), your messages on Facebook Messenger are not private. Messages that are sent through the Facebook Messenger app are NOT end-to-end encrypted. This means that any message you send on Messenger could be seen or intercepted in plain text.
How do I delete Messenger from my phone?
As with other third-party apps, you can remove it from your phone with a few taps. If you use Messenger on a phone running a recent version of Android, open the Settings icon and select Apps & Notifications. Find the Messenger icon; if you do not see it, tap See All Apps (or App Info) first. Tap the Uninstall option.
How do I permanently delete Messenger messages on both sides?
On your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete. Then select Remove. Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for. Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.