Go to “Settings”, click “iCloud”, turn off the toggle for “Messages”. Once you have done, messages will not be backed up later. Just remember that your messages in the iCloud, if any, will not be deleted by disabling ‘Messages’ in the iCloud. It would only stop further uploading of messages in the iCloud.
What happens when you turn iCloud on for Messages?
Turn on Messages. Any messages currently stored in iCloud are now accessible on your device, and any new messages you receive on your device will be stored in iCloud. To see messages stored in iCloud, open the Messages app.
Should I keep text messages in iCloud?
One storage-saving approach that doesn’t require you to delete any messages is to turn on Messages in iCloud. By turning this function on, iCloud will keep your entire message history and share it with all your Apple devices including iPhone, iPad and even Mac computers.
What happens when you disable your iMessage?
Answering your question, the message will appear on the devices that has iMessage but not on the one you’ve disabled, however, if you turn off iMessage on all devices, then your friends will send you a normal text message.
What are messages in iCloud?
You can view text messages on iCloud that you’ve received or sent to anyone on any synced device, at any time. As long as you have syncing turned on for each of your Apple devices, they will all be viewable in the Messages app, whether you’re using an iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, or Mac.
Does deleting text messages free up iCloud storage?
When you use Messages in iCloud, all of your text messages and the attachments you send and receive use your iCloud storage. You can make more space available when you delete texts and attachments”like photos, videos, and files”that you don’t need anymore.
What happens if I disable and download messages on iPhone?
“By disabling Messages in iCloud, your Messages data will be downloaded to your device and will no longer sync to iCloud,” reads Apple’s description of the feature. With sync off, your messages will be included in a separate iCloud backup.
How long do text messages stay on iCloud?
Messages are currently stored for up to 30 days.
How can I retrieve deleted text messages from iCloud?
Go to Settings > General > Reset. Tap Erase All Content and Settings. On the Apps & Data screen, tap Restore from iCloud Backup. Sign in with your Apple ID. Proceed to Choose backup and select from a list of available backups in iCloud.
Does turning off iMessage delete Messages?
No. Your messages are tied to the device specifically, not necessarily the account.
Can I turn off Messages on iPhone?
Go to Settings. Tap Messages. Turn iMessage off. Go back to Settings.
How do I stop receiving iMessages?
On your iPhone, go to Settings. Tap Messages. Set iMessage to Off.
Why is my iCloud storage full after deleting messages?
There might be too many pictures in Messages. The warning that iCloud is full usually appears when automatic iCloud backup is triggered. You could try turning off iCloud backup on iPhone and you won’t receive this message.
How do I free up space on my iCloud?
Check your space. To see how much space you are using, enter Settings on your iPhone or iPad, select iCloud, click Storage, followed by Manage Storage. Delete old backups. Change backup settings. Alternative photo services.
Do deleted Imessages go to iCloud?
You can retrieve deleted text messages on your iPhone by restoring it with an iCloud backup. If you save backups to your computer, you can use iTunes or Finder to recover your iPhone’s texts. If all else fails, reach out to your cellular carrier ” they may restore deleted messages for you.